Review exercises

January 27, 2007 at 11:32 am (Conditionals / Wishes / Unreal Past)

01.- Put the verbs in brackets into the correct tense, then identify the types of conditionals.

1 If you ……don’t do….. (not/do) your homework, you won’t be allowed to go out. … (Type 1) …

2 If he (take out) ……….a loan, he’d be able to buy a car.

3 Keep the noise down or else someone (hear) ………….us.

4 The state of the economy (improve) …………….. provided that there is a change of government.

5 I won’t go on holiday unless you (come) ………………. with me.

6 If you (talk) ……………….. less, you would be able to concentrate on your work.

7 If she (read) …………………… the newspaper, she would have known about the earthquake.

8 If the food (not/be) ………….so good, we wouldn’t have eaten so much.

9 If you (stop) ………………complaining, we would be able to get some work done today.

10 Even if I (phone) …………….them, it would have been too late to change their minds.

11 Unless you (turn down) …………………the music, I won’t be able to concentrate on what I’m doing.

12 Unemployment will decrease provided the government (take) …………….appropriate measures.

13 If you continue to threaten me, I (have to) ……………….seek legal advice.

14 I (speak) …………..to her if she apologised for her appalling behaviour.

15 I wouldn’t have been able to sit the exam if you (not/help) ………….me.

16 What (he/say) …………….if you told him the truth?

17 If you watch this film, you (get) ……………an idea of how difficult life is for these tribes.

18 If you (cancel) ……………within the time limit, we would have given you a full refund.

19 If she had realised how late it was, she (not/ring) …………us.

20 We could have some fresh air if you (open) ………….. the window.

puppies1.jpg
02.- Complete the text by putting the verbs in brackets into the correct tense.

Einstein is reported to have said, “If I 1) … had known… (know) the destruction I would cause, I 2) (become) …………..a watch-maker.” If we 3) (continue) …………….to use nuclear energy as a means of defence, we 4) (make) ………….. our planet uninhabitable. If the public 5) (be) ………….more aware of the dangers, they 6)(demand) ………..the right to live in a safer society. If the Cold War had developed into World War III, the human race 7) (be/wiped out) ……………forever.
Unless we 8) (discover) ………….a way to prevent nuclear war, by the 21st century we 9) (face) ………….major disaster. Some scientists claim that if we 10) (tap into) ………..the natural energy in the universe, we 11) (provide) ………ourselves with a never-ending, pollution-free source of power. Only if we 12) (put) ……………. more money into research and less into defence 13) ……………(we/be able to) discover other forms of energy. As long as we 14) (continue) ………….. to abuse knowledge and power, the earth 15) (remain) ………….an insecure planet to inhabit.

puppies2.jpg

03.- Rewrite the following as conditional sentences.

1 You have to go to Athens to see the Acropolis .

If you go to Athens, you can see the Acropolis ….

2 You need to pass your driving test before you can drive.

Unless . ………………………………………………..

3 You must study harder to pass your exams.

If ……………………………………………………….

4 As long as the rain continues we can’t play football.

Unless ………………………………………………….

5 Tom had to ask for a pay rise or he wouldn’t have got one.

Unless ………………………………………………….

6 You need all the right spices to make an authentic Indian meal.

If ……………………………………………………….

7 Going there by bus will be cheaper than going by train.

If ………………………………………………………..

8 Entering this competition could win you a mountain bike.

If …………………………………………………………

9 We will have to leave without him if he doesn’t arrive in the next 10 minutes.

Unless ……………………………………………………

10 We will be able to go swimming if the weather improves.

Unless ……………………………………………………

puppies3.gif
04.- Read the following situations, then write as many conditional sentences as possible.

1 As long as it rains, I’ll stay at home .

If it rains, I’ll stay at home./ Only if it rains will I stay at home. /I won’t stay at home unless it rains ….

2 I’ll save money, then I’ll go to France on holiday .

3 Wait five minutes and I’ll give you a lift.

4 I’ll cook and you can do the washing up afterwards.

puppies4.jpg
05.- Rewrite the following sentences omitting “if”.

1 If I were you, I wouldn’t apply for the post of firefighter.

…. Were I you, I wouldn’t apply for the post of firefighter ….

2 If you should go to the post office, could you buy me some stamps?

3 If anyone should ring, will you take a message?

4 If you had turned off the oven sooner, the pizza wouldn’t have burnt.

5 If I were younger, I’d accept his offer.

puppies5.jpg
06.- Rewrite the following as mixed conditionals.

1 He’s not a good worker, so he wasn’t promoted,

….If he were a good worker, he would have been promoted….

2 They walked 40 kilometres, so they’re exhausted now,

3 You didn’t make an appointment, so we can’t see you tomorrow.

4 She didn’t take the medication and now she’s ill again.

5 The flight left on time, so they will be in Moscow by now.

6 They were working in the rain all day, so they’re soaking wet now.

7 She didn’t study at all so she’ll do badly in the test.

8 He’s so gullible that he believed everything you said.

9 She was talking all day, so her throat is sore now.

10 He doesn’t listen to anyone’s advice, so he didn’t do what you suggested.
puppies61.jpg

07.- Compete the following sentences with an appropriate conditional clause.

1 If you want an exotic holiday, … you should go to Thailand… .

2 Unless you give him enough notice, ……………………

3 If you hadn’t overfed the cat, ………………………….

4 Had I known she was in trouble, ………………………..

5 Only if he apologises ……………………………………..

6 The argument wouldn’t have started if …………………

7 If I had more time, ………………………………………..

8 You wouldn’t have had so much trouble if …………….

9 Should I meet her again, ………………………………..

10 Had I known how late I was going to be, …………….

11 Only if we start recycling ………………………………

12 If you had tried harder,…………………………………

13 Had he given me clearer instructions, ………………..

14 If we leave at six o’clock, ……………………………..

15 Should she ring while I’m out, ………………………….

puppies7.jpg
08.- Complete the sentences using the words in bold. Use two to five words.

1 You’d better cut down on sugar.

were
If I … were you, I would … cut down on sugar.

2 Tom got lost because we didn’t give him clear directions.

have
Tom ……………………….if we had given him clear directions.

3 If you don’t criticise his work, he’ll never improve.

unless
He’ll never improve …………………………………his work.

4 She doesn’t have many friends because she is shy.

were
If she …………………………………..have many friends.

5 We’ll only sign the contract if he changes that clause.

will
Only if he changes that clause ………………………the contract.

6 He’s afraid of heights, so he won’t come climbing.

were
If he ………………………………, he would come climbing.

7 Lucy can prepare the report, but she’ll have to be given instructions.

only
Lucy can prepare the report ………………….instructions.

8 As long as you give it back by Friday, you can borrow my book.

provided
You can borrow my book ………………………by Friday.

9 If you don’t lend us some money, we won’t be able to go to the theatre.

unless
We won’t be able to go to the theatre ……………..some money.

10 She missed the meeting because her car broke down.

broken
She wouldn’t have missed the meeting if ………………..down.

11 I need to get this to her, but I haven’t got her fax number.

had
If , ………………………..I couid get this to her.

12 He forgot about the invitation so he didn’t go to the dinner.

not
Had …………….. the invitation, he would have gone to the dinner.

13 I think Bill should look for a better job.

were
If ………………………………………look for a better job.

14 We didn’t take a map so we got lost.

taken
If ……………………………, we wouldn’t have got lost.

15 Mark didn’t tell her it was a secret so she told Pam.

have
If Mark had told her it was a secret, ……………………….Pam.

puppies8.jpg

09.- Put the verbs in brackets into the correct tense.

I’ve had a long career. If I 1) … hadn’t been chosen … (not/be/chosen) to play the lead in my school play, I 2) (not/become) …………….what I am today. I was only nine and I’m sure I 3) (feel) ………. nervous if I 4) (not/have) my parents’ support. They encouraged me to take dancing classes after that. If only I 5) (not/refuse)…………..! I love dance now and if I 6) (be) ……….younger,I 7) (study) ………….ballet. Apart from that, I don’t have many regrets about my career. I wish I 8)
(perform) …………..more in the theatre, but I suppose if I 9) (have)……………, I 10) (not/have) time to do so many film roles.

puppies9.jpg

10.- Write sentences as in the example:

1 You didn’t watch the news so you didn’t know there was a train strike .

I wish I had watched the news, If I had watched the news, I would have known there was a train strike ……

2 You work long hours and you can’t spend much time with your family.

3 You wanted to travel abroad but you forgot to renew your passport.

4 You can’t drive a car so you can’t get around easily.

5 You wanted to play tennis but you broke your racquet.

6 You want to go swimming but you have lost your swimming costume .

7 You want to climb the mountain but you are afraid of heights .

8 You didn’t set your video correctly so you didn’t record the film .

9 You want to go out tonight but you haven’t got enough money.

10 You want to cook an Italian meal but you have no pasta left.

puppies10.jpg
11.- Rewrite the text using wishes or if-clauses as in the example:

Dear Mary,

I just had to write and let you know what a terrible day I’ve had today. As my neighbour is ill I offered to take her dog for a walk. My neighbour did warn me that he’s very energetic but I didn’t listen. He dragged me all around the park. What a disaster! He was so excited that he knocked another neighbour off her bicycle. Unfortunately she hurt her leg and she was very angry with me. I shouldn’t have taken the dog for a walk. To make matters worse, I had forgotten to lock the front door as we’d left the house in a rush. My house was burgled. Why was I so stupid? I hadn’t even renewed our house insurance. My husband keeps going on about it.

Well, hopefully tomorrow will be better.

With love,
Lisa

I wish I hadn’t had such a terrible day today, …

puppies11.jpg

12.- Complete the sentences using the words in bold. Use two to five words.

1 It’s a pity I can’t go to the cinema today, but I have to babysit.

could
I wish … I could go to the … cinema today, but I have to babysit.

2 It’s a shame we didn’t go out for dinner.

gone
I wish ……………………………………………for dinner.

3 I don’t have many friends here.

had
I wish ………………………………………here.

4 It’s a pity I can’t go out tonight but I have to work late.

could
I wish ……………………………..but I have to work late.

5 It’s a shame we didn’t go home for Christmas.

gone
I wish ……………………………….for Christmas.

6 If it weren’t raining, we could go for a walk.

stop
I wish ……………………….; we could go for a walk.

7 It’s a pity that I wasn’t given the position.

been
I wish ……………………………….the position.

8 I’ve been offered a job in Spain, but I can’t speak Spanish.

speak
I wish ………………….because I’ve been offered a job in Spain.

9 If it weren’t snowing, we could go for a drive.

stop
I wish ……………………………..; we could go for a drive.

10 It’s a shame we missed the beginning of the film.

missed
I wish ……………………………….beginning of the film.

puppies12.jpg

13.- Complete the following sentences.

1 If Bob hadn’t broken his leg,… he could have come with us… .

2 If only he hadn’t lied to Sally, ………………….. ……..

3 If John is in trouble, .. ……………………………………

4 If only she had more patience, ……………………………………………………..

5 If she had won the competition, ………………………..

6 Ann wishes she had set the alarm, ……………………..

7 I wish I hadn’t left the oven on too long, ……………..

8 If only I had written down her phone number, ……….

9 If she hadn’t been sitting in the sun all afternoon, ……

10 Tom wishes he hadn’t gambled last Sunday, ………….

puppies13.jpg
14.- Put the verbs in brackets into the correct tense.

1 Suppose they ……had not turned up … (not/turn up) to meet you, what would you have done?

2 If only I (not/eat) ……………………so much last night.

3 If she (tell) ……………..me it was a secret, I wouldn’t have told anyone.

4 Suppose you (miss) ………………….your connection, how would you have got home?

5 Suppose he (catch) ………………..you smoking, what would you do?

6 I’d rather we (leave) ……………………..now.

7 If only I (not/stay) ……………………out so late last night.

8 It’s high time you (take) …………………some responsibility for your actions.

9 Supposing you (fail) ………………..your exams, what would you have done?

10 It’s time you (light) …………………….the fire – it’s getting very cold.

11 She spends money as if she (have) …………………………….loads of it, but I know she’s in debt.

12 If we (install) ……………………..a burglar alarm, this wouldn’t have happened.

13 I’d rather we (go) ……………………..home now.

14 I wish she (study) …………………………harder instead of watching TV all the time.

15 I’d rather she (not/wear) …………………..my dress last night. She’s ruined it.

puppies14.gif

15.- Read the following situations, then make sentences using ‘would rather’ or ‘had better’.

1 You want to play tennis not squash ….
…….I would rather play tennis than play squash ….

2 You don’t want her to invite him to the party .

3 You want to be left alone to read and don’t want to go to the cinema .

4 It would be more sensible for you to go and rest for an hour.

5 I would prefer to spend Christmas in Spain and not go home .

6 We should have waited for him at home .

7 Mary always wears horrible orange lipstick. You wish she wouldn’t.

8 Your friend turns up late and you are angry with him

puppies15.jpg

16.- Put the verbs in brackets into the correct form.

1 I’d rather … go…… (go) fishing this afternoon.

2 I’d rather you (not/wear) …………….my red dress to the dance tonight.

3 I’d rather you (say) ……………….that you didn’t want to come!

4 I’d rather (go) …………….by plane but I couldn’t afford the air fare.

5 I’d rather you (not/use) …………such bad language! It upsets people.

6 We prefer (watch) …………films to (watch) ……………political programmes.

7 I’d rather you (not/tell) …………….them the news yet.

8 I prefer (cook) ……………………dinner rather than (eat) …….. in that restaurant.

9 We’d prefer (call) ………..our child David, rather than (call) ……….him Stephen.

10 We would rather (recycle) ………..our rubbish than (use) …………non-recyclable goods.

11 He had better (not/tell) …………her or I’ll be furious!

12 After a lot of thought, we’ve decided that we would prefer (get/married) ……………..in Portugal rather than in England.

13 It would have been better if she (give) ………………us the information sooner.

14 You’d better (not/wake) ……………………her up because she hasn’t slept for two days.

15 I would prefer (pay) ………………in cash rather than by credit card .

puppies16.jpg

17.- Fill in the gaps with the appropriate auxiliary verb .

1 She had her hair permed and now she wishes she … hadn’t

2 Her husband spends a lot of money and she wishes he ………

3 I suspect they’ll be late again but I wish they …………..

4 She always forgets people’s names but she wishes she ……….

5 He invited 20 people for dinner and now he wishes he ……….

6 She doesn’t know how to use a computer but she wishes she ……

7 They never ring before coming round but I wish they …………

8 You’re always interfering in my affairs and I wish you …………

9 We didn’t invite the Smiths but I wish we ……………..

10 You told them I could do the job but I wish you ………..

puppies17.jpg

18.- Put the verbs in brackets into the correct form.

Dear Sarah,

I’m having an absolutely fabulous time here on Ischia! I wish you

1) ….had decided…. (decide) to come wlth me. It 2) …………. (be) even better if you were here. I wish I 3) …………….. (try) harder to persuade you to come with me. If only you 4) …………(change) your mind! I’m sure you could get time off work if you 5) ……….(ask). If you can’t come to Ischia, 6) ………………(you/consider) meeting in Rome at the beginning of next month? Of course if you 7) …………… (come) with me in the first place, we 8) …………..(have) a great time right now. Anyway, if you 9) ………(give) me a rlng, I 10) ……………. (tell) you exactly what my plans are and then you can decide what you want to do.
Love,
Julia

puppies71.jpg

19.- Complete the sentences using the words in bold. Use two to five words.

1 Jo was about to get on the train when she realised it was the wrong one.

if
Jo would have got on the train if she … hadn’t realised it was … the wrong one.

2 He didn’t go to the party because he didn’t know where it was.

known
If ……………………….the party was, he would have gone.

3 I think you should have your hair cut.

were
If ………………………………have my hair cut.

4 You’d think she was a film star.

though
She behaves ……………………………….a film star.

5 It would have been better if you had arrived on time.

only
If ………………………………………………….on time.

6 He shouldn’t have used my mug.

used
I’d …………………………………my mug.

7 We should leave now if we want to get the bus.

time
It’s ……………………………if we want to get the bus.

8 It would have been better if you hadn’t told her that.

only
If ……………………………………………….her that.

9 It’s a pity you missed the performance.

had
I ………………………………………the performance.

10 If John doesn’t turn up, we won’t be able to finish the project.

should
We won’t be able to finish the project ……………………..up.

puppies31.gif
20.- Find the word which should not be in the sentence.

1 If you shall pay attention, maybe you’ll learn something.

2 If Tom is busy, will ask Sarah to help.

3 If only she had been caught that train.

4 It’s time we had announced the winner.

S He’d better to payoff his debts before he buys a car.

6 I’d rather to write a project than sit an exam.

7 If only that I hadn’t lost my traveller’s cheques.

8 Suppose he had caught you stealing, what would you do?

9 Had if he known it was her birthday, he would have bought her a present.

10 Take my business card in case you will want to contact me.

14 Comments

  1. Paola said,

    Do you have the answer sheet for these exercises that you could send me?
    Thanks

  2. Trinity said,

    Do you have the answer sheet for these exercises that you could send me? Thanks

  3. Dana said,

    Do you have the answer sheet for these exercise that you could send me? Thanks

  4. Sergiy said,

    Do you have the answer sheet for these exercise that you could send me? Thanks

  5. Anatoliy said,

    Do you have the answer sheet for these exercise that you could send me? Thanks

  6. Kate said,

    from which book this exercises are taken? Could you send me the answers?

  7. Evgenyi said,

    from which book this exercises are taken? Could you send me the answers?

  8. http://dichvusinhnhat.com/chi-tiet/159-to-chuc-sinh-nhat-tai-nha.html to chuc sinh nhat tai nha said,

    Creating an Animaed Computer Game – Now we switch to software project management,
    where you startup a computer animation company. You
    need tons of photographs and video because this is what your child will see.
    Also see the work they have completed in past and go through
    client testimonials.

  9. LilyaSadzhenutsya said,

    from which book this exercises are taken? Could you send me the answers?

  10. Diana said,

    answer sheet?

  11. Rozh said,

    Could you give us the answers please?

  12. Oliver said,

    rom which book this exercises are taken and could you send me the answers?

  13. Bridget said,

    Fidelity Loan Finance it’s a government approved firm, they give out loans to both individuals and companies with an interest rate of 2%. Are you looking for a personal loan or a company loan? Any amount you need is available at Fidelity Loan Finance Firm, contact them through email: ( fidlfin@live.com ) I have benefited from them and you can benefit also.

  14. Elena said,

    Could you give us the answers please?

Leave a comment